Skip to main content
National Award of Plastic Arts 2018 awarded in Cuba

National Award of Plastic Arts 2018 awarded in Cuba

The National Council of Plastic Arts of Cuba has been conferred today, to the artist José Ángel Toirac for the work done throughout his life.

José Ángel Toirac (Guantánamo, 1966). He graduated from the Provincial School of Plastic Arts "San Alejandro" in 1985, as well as the Higher Institute of Art (ISA) in 1990. He has more than thirty personal and collective exhibitions maintaining a systematic presence in the national galleries. Pieces of his authorship are part of the collections of the Forum Ludwig, Germany; Atlantic Center of Modern Art, Spain; Arizona StateUniversity Art Museum, USA; MoMA, USA; and the Musée des Beaux-Arts de Montréal, Canada, among other institutions, galleries and public and private collections.

He has been awarded artistic residencies at the Ludwig Forum, Arizona State University, Rhode Island School of Design, University of Kentucky, Vermont Studio Center, Art in General, NY and Mattress Factory, Pittsburg.

He coutns in his curriculum with two National Prizes of Curatorship, the Distinction for the National Culture, as well as important distinctions of his student stage.

The National Prize for Plastic Arts was awarded for the first time in 1994 and is awarded annually to a Cuban visual artist, alive and residing in the country, whose production is distinguished by providing a valuable contribution to the development and history of the visual arts in Cuba. Are also consider their most relevant achievements and their national and international projection.

For this occasion, they nominated 31 cultural institutions from Havana and the rest of the provinces. A jury composed of prestigious personalities of the visual arts was appointed. This year the jury was chaired by the National Award last year Eduardo Roca Salazar (Choco) and the National Plastic Arts Awards, José Manuel Fors, Ever Fonseca, Ernesto Fernández, José Villa, Osneldo García, Nelson Domínguez, Pedro de Oraá and Lázaro Saavedra; the artists Luis Enrique Camejo, Rafael Villares and Ariadna Contino; art critics, researchers and curators Hilda María Rodríguez, Maikel Rodriguez Calviño and Gabriela Hernández.

This year's nominees were the artists José Ángel Toirac Batista, Esterio Segura, Lesbia Vent Dumois, Flora Fong, Zaida del Río, Rafael Zarza, Manuel Hernandez, Alberto Lezcay Merencio, Ileana Mulet, Arturo Montoto, Roberto Diago, Agustín Villafaña, Agustín Drake Aldama and Roberto Salas.

With information from the CNAP Promotion Department